Daily Archives: December 21, 2013

A Break is Allowed

It is strange, but when we were homeschooling full time, I never really felt like I was allowed/able to take a break. I felt like we had to go on and on for some reason. It is only now that they are off from school that I don’t feel pressured to push, push, push.

So, we kicked off our fun last night at Girl Scouts. My older girls made marbled paper with shaving cream and food coloring. I had my younger girls and Isa try it out in the morning at home. It was very messy!
image

image

Today, I am excited for my parents to visit and attend Yahya’s basketball game with me. I really enjoy watching his games. I usually go by myself as my husband stays home with the rest of the children. It is a bit of a break for me. This last week his team played great. The score was 50- 27  and he scored 21 points, maashaa allah.
image

Before the girls went on break, some of the other Muslims girls gave Hannah and Jamilah small gifts of candy and poems.  I just had to share this acrostic poem that one of girls wrote for Hannah. It made me cry (tears of happiness of course).
image

So, for the next couple of weeks, we hope to spend some time with friends and family. I also intend to finish knitting a blanket for charity that the girls and I have been working on for over a year. I am only a few squares away.