Daily Archives: October 9, 2011

Repost: Interview

A couple of years ago, an online learning magazine interviewed me about homeschooling, but they have since disappeared.  I thought I would repost the interview for those of you who haven’t yet read it or are new here and would like to know more about us.

1.
How and when did you start homeschooling? What drew you to it?

Well, we have been homeschooling since my oldest was born almost 12 years ago. Even before we accepted Islam, my husband and I decided that we would homeschool any children that we may be blessed with after I taught for several years in the public school system. We decided our children would receive a better, more individualized education at home.

2. How did you decide to do eclectic?

Our children have diverse learning styles and the eclectic method allows for accommodating individual needs. After realizing that a boxed curriculum was not going to fit any of my children’s needs, I then started pulling curriculum resources from anywhere and everywhere. Our curriculum resources include library sources, the Internet, books, magazines, museums, parks, videos, and community resources just to name a few. Sometimes, we may use a ready made curriculum for a particular subject, but I always used it in a way that would meet our family’s needs.

3. I saw in a recent post how you have
trained your older children to help with the younger ones. How has this helped you during your day as a homeschooling mom to five children? (Actually, I have 7 children)

I can’t emphasize enough how much of a humongous help it is to have my older children help with the younger ones. It frees me up to get a few chores done as well as some organization before we get started on our homeschooling day.

4. How does your Islamic faith affect
your homeschooling? I know there are many religious support groups for
Christians– as a Muslim homeschooler, what support do you have?

Just as homeschooling
is a lifestyle, practicing Islam is a way of life as well. Islam affects all
aspects of our homeschool. Every resource we use, book we read, and activity in which we choose to participate are carefully considered to be sure they are within the bounds of our Islamic beliefs. Our day is also scheduled around the five mandatory prayers.

Even though there aren’t any support groups were we live, there are numerous online support groups as well as Islamic homeschooling forums such as the IHSAN forum(http://www.islamichomeeducation.co.uk/phpBB3/)
which offers encouragement, support, and camaraderie for Muslim homeschoolers. Additionally, when I began the blogging adventure in 2008), I discovered that there was a welcoming, close knit family of Muslim bloggers who act as pillars for one another.

5. How much time do you spend a day
homeschooling?

For us, homeschooling is truly a lifestyle and can’t be quantified. We live, breathe, eat, and sleep homeschooling. I have to admit though it has taken me years to fully understand and step out of the school mindset. Recently, I have fully embraced the concept
that every single venture that my family and I undertake is part of our life education.

6.
How do you keep the younger children busy when you’re working with the older
ones?

Admittedly, keeping the younger children busy is sometimes a challenge, but we have different strategies that are successful. My favorite plan of action is to work with the older children when my husband is at home and available to keep the little ones occupied. I do try to include them in hands-on activities such as science experiments and math by giving them math manipulatives of their own. Having all the children in the same room while we are reading on the sofa helps prevent the little ones from wondering around and getting into trouble. Also, they have age appropriate activities that are set out for them to play with if they are interested. If the weather is warm, I may send them outside with their older siblings.

7. What do you like to do with your
children when you’re not hitting the books?

We love being outside.
So any activity that has to do with the outdoors is right up our alley.
Recently, we have taken up canoeing and kayaking. The older children also love
horseback riding. This summer we hope to take some bike trips together.

The children and I visit the library, museum, nature centers, state parks, and botanical gardens are a regular basis. The girls love arts and crafts and are fond of participating in weekend programs at the local art museum and visual arts
center.

8. What did you teach in the public
schools? How has your teaching background influenced your homeschooling?

My first year in public school was spent teaching high school biology and earth science. I also tutored reading and math for a private company within a public middle school and high school.

The public school experience as well as my student teaching experience has greatly influenced theway we homeschool. I had an  unique and unusual opportunity to be placed in an
environmental science class as part of my student teaching assignment. The curriculum of this environmental upper high school level course was completely created by the instructor. The curriculum wasn’t based on a textbook, but almost completely hands-on and obviously the students loved it. I was able to
attend as well as lead weekly field trip with the class to the local mountains, streams, and other outdoor places to assist the instructor in sharing knowledge of our environment. The highlight of my student teaching came during a weekend trip to an island in the Chesapeake Bay off of the Eastern Shore of Virginia. I
was truly blessed to able to take part in this amazing excursion. I truly believe that my one-of-a-kind student teaching experience in particular has influenced the way I guide my own children in our homeschool.

 

 

 

9. Do you have any local
homeschooling friends you get together with, or do you mostly do it on your
own?

We do get together with other homeschooling friends from time to time at the local homeschool park day and for play dates. Our children are very social, so they tend to make friends with other children wherever we go.