The Discoveries That Keep Me Going

Homeschooling is hard.  There is no doubt about it, but it is the little precious moments that make it all worthwhile and keeps me motivated day after day to continue this journey with them.  For us a perfect example of these memorable moments are finding wildlife in our yard. Today was an excellent day for critter spottings, maashaa Allah.   First Isa and I stood several feet away from a crow which landed right on our railing and then processed to eat the children’s left over lunch droppings.  He was so thrilled and started imitating the crow’s caws.  Later in the day, Jennah came running inside excitedly to tell me that she had found a lizard (a five lined skink) in the back.  Finally, the girls discovered a male black widow spider hanging around the woodpile. 

This is truly what makes it all worthwhile.  Just to see the excitement on their faces and yearning to learn more about their seemingly small discoveries.  Today was a good homeschooling day, maashaa Allah.

9 responses to “The Discoveries That Keep Me Going

  1. Mashallah I like you enthusiasm and willingness to see everyday moments as learning opportunities. May Allah help us all to have wisdom when raising our children

    • I try to keep up my enthusiasm, sister. Sometimes it seems so overwhelming and impossible, but we just have to keep moving forward nevertheless.

  2. Awww mashaAllah. I’m very similar in that when we venture outside and the children are thrilled with nature – I feel as though it was a beautiful productive day. It seems as though its natural and where they belong.

  3. Assalamualaykum,
    The small moments make such a difference, subhanAllah. A small bad moment can make the day feel wasted whilst a good moment makes it almost perfect!

  4. Asalamalaikum, Your blog really inspired me to take the steps into h/schooling and Im so glad to start reading your posts again, they are motivating and make me realise we all have those days of wondering “Am I doing the right thing”? InshaAllah, may Allah help us and help us remember its all for the sake of Him !!

    • Wa alaikum as salaam designerscope,

      I’m glad this is helping you out, maashaa Allah. Ameen to your du’a. Remember we are all in this together.

  5. Salaam..instead of designerscope (just an art craft thing I” was” aiming at doing lol) Im Umm Isa-Khalil.

Leave a comment